DIY: Graphic Sweater

cowprintsweater

It finally feels like winter in Texas! The weather has dropped so I have officially packed up all my summer clothing and un packed my sweaters. We usually have very mild winters so I don’t find myself buying sweaters often. The sweaters I own have been around for many years with very little use. I’ve been seeing these graphic sweaters and really wanted one but didn’t want to spend the money buying one. Here it may be cold one day and in the 70’s the next day. It makes it very confusing on what to buy so if I never pay full price for sweaters or just make the best out of my old ones. Or DIY one! So I thrifted a sweater for $2 bucks and bought some felt for $1 and crafted me a cow print sweater for $3 bucks! Check out the tutorial below:

DSCN4736

Things you need:

  • Plain sweater
  • Fabric glue
  • 2 sheets of cow poke felt, you can buy here.
  • Scissors

DSCN4740First, cut all the shapes out of the felt. I used two sheets of felt but I only covered the front of my sweater. Use more if you want to add to the back and sleeves. This particular felt I found at Hobby Lobby, so if you have one in your town try there first. If not and you can’t find it at your local craft store try googling cow print and print it out. Then use that to trace out your shapes on plain black felt.

IMG_20131207_175911

Next, place all your cut out pieces on your sweater in a design you like.

DSCN4744

Add glue to the back of each piece and glue into place.

DSCN4748

Press each piece down for a couple of seconds. When your finished gluing go back and double-check each piece to see if additional glue will be needed. Let dry for 24hrs.

DSCN4724

DSCN4704Not bad for $3 dollars. It was actually pretty cold when I took this picture. It was drizzling and very cold. I was shivering in between shots. Thanks Blanc for getting a good shot!

10 thoughts on “DIY: Graphic Sweater

Leave a Reply

